Sea Survival Training

  • Why is Sea Survival Training critical?

  • ONGC’s Sea Survival Centre: A National, and indeed, a Global asset

  • Safety is paramount and valuable

  • A Training for all!

  • Other important training protocols


Asset Publisher

धर्मेंद्र प्रधान ने जूनियर हॉकी वर्ल्ड चैंपियंस का स्वागत किया

Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Hon’ble Minister of Petroleum & Natural Gas felicitated the Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) players of the winning team of Jr.Hockey World Cup here today.

Speaking on the occasion. Shri Pradhan said that the Junior Hockey World Cup win proclaims the tremendous work that the Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) is doing for the country. He congratulated the players and motivated them to work harder and achieve laurels in the sports at the highest level.

Dharmendra Pradhan with the players, coach, MoPNG, ONGC, BPCL, GAIL, IOCL and PSPB officials

Dharmendra Pradhan with the players, coach, MoPNG, ONGC, BPCL, GAIL, IOCL and PSPB officials

India has won the Cup two times, once in 2001 and now in 2016.

India is the only host country to win the title. In this latest competition held at Lucknow in December, 2016, the Indian team had 5 players from ONGC and 5 players from Bharat Petroleum (BPCL). Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Vikramjit Singh and Sumit Singh are ONGC players while Harjeet Singh (captain), Vikas Dahiya, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar and Dipsan Tirkey are BPCL players.

India’s goalkeeping coach at the Jr Hockey World Cup Romeo James, a BPCL employee, was also felicitated.

ONGC players Gurjant Singh, Simranjeet Singh and Mandeep Singh were match winning scorers in the semi-final and also in the final, beating Belgium 2-1.

The win has been possible because of excellent skills and temperament shown by the players throughout the tournament.

The commendable efforts put in by leading corporates like ONGC and BPCL in nurturing the young talented players to World class level is indeed praiseworthy. These players have been groomed in the scholarship program of ONGC and BPCL, providing world class facilities and nurturing and grooming raw talent.

Hockey Jr. World Cup had its beginning in 1979 and since 1985 it is held every four years. Two teams from each continent are selected through qualification rounds for the Championship round. Germany has won the Jr. World Cup titles 6 times.

The event was also presided over by Mr K D Tripathi, Secretary MoPNG, Dr Narinder Batra, President, International Hockey Federation and PSPB, Mr K D Tripathi, CMD GAIL, Mr B Ashok, CMD IOCL, Mr Ajay Sawhney, Additional Secretary, MoPNG and Mr D D Misra, Director (HR), ONGC.

Issued by:
Corporate Communications  निगमित संचार
4th Floor, PDU Urja Bhawan
5, Nelson Mandela Marg, Vasant Kunj  
New Delhi- 110070